Modi’s government to prioritise labour reforms

Modi’s government to prioritise Labour Reforms
The latest version of Modi’s government is said to have prioritised labour reforms, an initiative the government had failed to realise in its first term.

When Narendra Modi came to power in 2014, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) planned to reorganise the 44 labour laws into 4 labour codes—wages, industrial relations, social security, and welfare and occupational safety. Since the labour unions and industry representatives did not agree with the amendments, the four code bills failed to come into existence.

The Code of Wages bill was discussed in the lower house of Parliament and was referred to a standing committee. However, the bill lapsed before taking effect.

Back then, the NDA government promised to create 20 million jobs a year and make India an economic powerhouse. It also ensured industrialists in building a better environment for investments.

Nonetheless, the government is looking forward to getting approval and implement the first 3 bills, i.e. wages, industrial relations, and social security in the upcoming term.

Though the government had failed to keep up its agenda on jobs, it is all set to utilise the second opportunity to realise the plans.

You May Also Like

Union Budget 2019: Impact on Banking and Finance Sector

The Union Budget 2019-20 was announced by the Minister of Finance Nirmala…

BharatPe Offers Loans Worth Rs 70 Crore to Small Retailers

BharatPe has recently announced that it will disburse loans of more than…

Union Budget 2019: 8 Key Takeaways for MSMEs and Startups

The Minister of Finance Nirmala Sitharaman presented the much-awaited Budget on 05…

PM Modi May Launch the Farmer Pension Scheme in August

The Pradhan Mantri Kisan Maandhan Yojana is expected to be launched by…